5 types of Florida alimony

If you are going through a divorce, you may have concerns about the money you will need to support yourself and your children. But beware, Florida’s divorce laws do not guarantee alimony as part of the divorce decree.

However, there are several types of alimony the courts can choose from.

1: Temporary

The money awarded ensures lower-earning spouses can support themselves during the divorce process. The alimony ends when the divorce becomes final.

2: Durational

Durational alimony provides financial help for a set period. The order cannot extend past the length of the marriage. The courts grant this type of maintenance when the spouse does not qualify for permanent alimony.

3: Rehabilitative

The alimony gives needed support to help get the spouse back into the workforce. The money includes:

  • Paying for education or training
  • Redeveloping prior skills or credentials

To receive this money, the spouse must present a specific rehabilitative plan.

4: Bridge-the-gap

The courts may award bridge-the-gap alimony to help provide support when a spouse is transitioning from being part of a couple to being single. This is short-term support that cannot exceed two years. It ends on the death of either spouse or with the remarriage of the spouse receiving alimony.

5: Permanent

A judge determines if a spouse needs support for the indefinite future. The spouse may receive permanent alimony if he or she lacks the financial ability to meet the needs.

When determining the type and amount of alimony, the court considers several factors, including the length of the marriage and the standard of living established during the marriage.